SPORTS

Here's the Virginia State Playoff Schedule

Comment
Decrease Increase Text size

2011 VHSL Regional Expanded Playoffs and Group A Sectional Football Pairings.

NOTE: Home team listed SECOND.
DIVISION PAIRINGS SCORES DATE TIME SITE/DIRECTOR

EASTERN REGION - EXPANDED PLAYOFFS
Div. 5 (8) Green Run (5-5) vs. (1) Hampton (8-2) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Darling Stadium, Bobby Pannenbacker, AD, Lake Taylor rpannenb@nps.k12.va.us
(7) Great Bridge (6-4) vs. (2) Lake Taylor (8-1) Nov. 12 7:30 pm Lake Taylor HS, Bobby Pannenbacker, AD, Lake Taylor rpannenb@nps.k12.va.us
(6) Warwick (6-4) vs. (3) Phoebus (8-2) Nov. 12 7:30 pm Darling Stadium, Bobby Pannenbacker, AD, Lake Taylor rpannenb@nps.k12.va.us
(5) Lakeland(7-3) vs. I. C. Norcom, (8-2) Nov. 12 7:30 pm Joe G. Langston Stadium, I.C. Norcom Bobby Pannenbacker, AD, Lake Taylor
rpannenb@nps.k12.va.us
Div. 6 (8) Bethel (7-3) vs. (1) Oscar Smith (9-1) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Oscar Smith HS, Bobby Pannenbacker, AD, Lake Taylor rpannenb@nps.k12.va.us
(7) Bayside (8-2) vs. (2) Woodside (10-0) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Todd Stadium, Bobby Pannenbacker, AD, Lake Taylor rpannenb@nps.k12.va.us
(6) Ocean Lakes (8-2) vs. (3) Salem-VB (9-1) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Salem HS, Bobby Pannenbacker, AD, Lake Taylor rpannenb@nps.k12.va.us
(5) Landstown (8-2) vs. (4) Grassfield (9-1) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Grassfield HS, Bobby Pannenbacker, AD, Lake Taylor rpannenb@nps.k12.va.us

NORTHERN REGION - EXPANDED PLAYOFFS
Div. 5 (8) Langley (5-5) vs. (1) Stone Bridge (9-1) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Stone Bridge HS, John Lingenfelter, AD James Madison, john.lingenfelter@fcps.edu
(7) McLean (6-4) vs. (2) Yorktown (10-0) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Yorktown HS, John Lingenfelter, AD James Madison, john.lingenfelter@fcps.edu
(6) R.E. Lee – Sp. (6-4) vs. (3) Hayfield (8-2) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Hayfield HS, John Lingenfelter, AD James Madison, john.lingenfelter@fcps.edu
* (5) James Madison (7-3) vs. (4) South County (7-3) Nov. 11 7:30 pm South County HS, John Lingenfelter, AD James Madison, john.lingenfelter@fcps.edu
*South County and James Madison tied in rating scale.
Tie broken by 68-8-6 (e) the team with the higher average
rating of all of each team’s opponents.
Div. 6 (8) Robinson (4-6) vs. (1) Westfield (10-0) Westfield HS, Dan Checkosky, W. T. Woodson HS, djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(7) Fairfax (6-4) vs. (2) Centreville (9-1) Centreville HS, Dan Checkosky, W. T. Woodson HS, djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(6) Lake Braddock (6-4) vs. (3) Oakton (8-2) Oakton HS, Dan Checkosky, W. T. Woodson HS, djcheckosky@fcps.edu
(5) Chantilly (6-4) vs. (4) West Potomac (7-3) Nov. 11 7:30 pm West Potomac HS, Dan Checkosky, W. T. Woodson HS, djcheckosky@fcps.edu

NORTHWEST REGION - EXPANDED PLAYOFFS

Div. 5 (1) North Stafford (8-2) and (2) Broad Run (8-2) have bye
(6) George Washington (5-4) vs. (3) Massaponax (7-3) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Massaponax HS, Stan Clements, Massaponax HS, jclement@hs.scs.k12.va.us
(5) Mountain View (7-3) vs. (4) Brooke Point (7-3) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Brooke Point HS, Roger Pierce, Brooke Point HS, piercerw@staffordschools.net
Div. 6 (1) C. D. Hylton (10-0) and (2) Battlefield (8-2) have bye
(6) Colonial Forge (6-4)vs. (3) Franklin County (8-2) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Franklin Co. HS, TJ Shepardson, Franklin Co. HS, tj.shepardson@frco.k12.va.us
(5) Osbourn (7-3) vs. (4) Gar-Field (8-2) Nov. 12 1:00 pm Gar-Field HS, Michael Payne, Gar-Field HS, payneme@pwcs.edu


REGION I - EXPANDED PLAYOFFS
Div. 3 (1) York (10-0) and (2) James Monroe (10-0) have bye
(6) Park View (SH) (7-3) vs. (3) Lafayette (8-2) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Wanner Stadium, Dan Barner, Lafayette HS, barnerd@wjcc.k12.va.us
(5) Southampton (6-4) vs. (4) Poquoson (7-3) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Poquoson Middle School, Kenny Bennett, Poquoson HS,
kenneth.bennett@poquoson.k12.va.us
Div. 4 (1) Grafton (7-3) and (2) Courtland (7-3) have bye
(6) Jamestown (4-6) vs. (3) Warhill (6-4) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Cooley Field, Dan Mullen, Warhill HS, mullend@wjcc.k12.va.us
(5) King George (6-4) vs. (4) Chancellor (6-4) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Chancellor HS, Rod Crooks, Chancellor, rcrooks@hs.spotsylvania.k12.va.us

REGION II - EXPANDED PLAYOFFS
Div. 3 (8) Fauquier (5-5) vs. (1) Kettle Run (10-0) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Kettle Run HS, Paul Frye, Kettle Run HS, pfyre@fcps1.org
(7) Handley (5-5) vs. (2) Liberty (Beal) (8-2) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Liberty HS, Mark Holmes, Liberty HS, mholmes@fcps1.org
(6) Western Albemarle (6-4) vs. (3) Monticello (8-2) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Monticello HS, Fitzgerald Barnes, Monticello HS, fbarnes@k12albemarle.org
(5) Warren Co. (7-3) at (4) Tuscarora (8-2) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Tuscarora HS, Derek Farrey, Tuscarora HS, derek.farrey@lcps.org
Div. 4 (8) Park View—St. (4-6) vs. (1) Briar Woods (9-1) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Briar Woods HS, Jerry Carter, Briar Woods HS, jerry.carter@lcps.org
(7) James Wood (4-6) vs. (2) Powhatan (8-1) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Powhatan HS, Jim Woodson, Powhatan HS, jim.woodson@powhatan.k12.va.us
(6) Louisa Co. (6-3) vs. (3) Sherando (7-3) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Sherando HS, Jason Barbe, Sherando HS, barbej@frederick.k12.va.us
(5) Heritage—LC (7-3) vs. (4) Loudoun County (8-2) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Loudoun Co. HS, Ken Wright, Loudoun Co. HS, Kenneth.wright@lcps.org

REGION III - EXPANDED PLAYOFFS
Div. 3 (1) Northside (10-0) and (2) Brookville (10-0) have bye
(6) Rustburg (5-5) vs. (3) Rockbridge (8-2) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Rockbridge HS, Ricky Lollis, Rockbridge HS, ricky_lossis@rockbridge.k12.va.us
(5) Fort Defiance (6-4) vs. (4) R. E. Lee—St (6-4) Nov. 11 7:00 pm R. E. Lee HS, David Tibbs, R. E. Lee HS, dtibbs@staunton.k12.va.us
Div. 4 (1) Broadway (10-0) and (2) Jefferson Forest (8-2) have bye
(6) Staunton River (6-4) vs. (3) Harrisonburg (8-2) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Harrisonburg HS, Darrell Wilson, Harrisonburg HS, dwilson@harrisonburg.k12.va.us
(5) Amherst (5-5) vs. (4) Heritage—Lyn (6-4) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Heritage HS, Mark Storm, Heritage HS, stormmr@lcsedu.net

REGION IV - EXPANDED PLAYOFFS
Div. 3 (1) Richlands (10-0) and (2) Cave Spring (7-3) have bye
(6) Abingdon (3-7) vs. (3) Martinsville (5-5) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Martinsville HS, Tommy Golding, Martinsville HS, tgolding@martinsville.k12.va.us
** (5) Marion (4-6) vs. (4) Tunstall (4-6) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Tunstall HS, Edwin Newnam, Tunstall HG, ed.newnam@pcs.k12.va.us
**Marion and Tunstall tied in rating scale.
Tie broken by 68-8-6 (e) the team with the higher average
rating of all of each team’s opponents.
Div. 4 Christiansburg (9-1) and (2) Magna Vista (10-0) have bye
(6) Pulaski (1-9) vs. (3) Salem-S (7-3) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Salem HS, Sandy Hadaway, Salem HS, shadaway@salem.k12.va.us
(5) Bassett (3-7) vs. (4) Hidden Valley (6-4) Nov. 11 7:30 pm Dwight Bogle Stadium, Cave Spring Middle School, Chris Morris, Hidden Valley HS,
cmorris@rcs.k12.va.us

EASTERN SECTION - SECTIONAL PLAYOFFS
Div. 1 (16) West Point (4-6) vs. (1) Sussex Central (9-1) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Sussex Central HS, Stan Latham, Sussex Central HS. slatham@sussex.k12.va.us
(15) Surry (3-7) vs. (2) Mathews (9-1) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Mathews HS, Paul White, Mathews HS, pswhite@mathews.k12.va.us
(14) Charles City (3-7 vs. (3) Northumberland (7-3) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Northumberland HS, Darrell Long, Northumberland HS, jlong1@nucps.net
(13) Parry McCluer (3-6) vs. (4) Covington (7-3) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Casey Field, Shannon Leech Fuhrman, Covington HS,
sfuhrman@covington.k12.va.us
(12) Bath County (4-6) vs. (5) Franklin (6-4) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Franklin HS, Dave Lease, Franklin HS, dlease@franklincity.k12.va.us
(11) Colonial Beach (3-7) vs. (6) Central-L (7-3) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Central HS, Wallace Owen, Central HS, Wallace.owen@k12lcps.org
(10) William Campbell (3-7) vs.(7) Rappahannock (6-4) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Rappahannock HS, Jerry Parrish, Rappahannock HS,
jparrish@richmond-county.k12.va.us
(9) Altavista (5-5) vs. (8) Lancaster (5-5) Nov. 12 2:00 pm Lancaster HS, Fred Birchett, Lancaster HS, fbirchett@lcs.k12.va.us
Div. 2 (16) Nottoway (3-7) vs. (1) Goochland (10-0) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Goochland HS, Bryan Gordon, Goochland HS, bgordon@glnd.k12.va.us
(15) Randolph-Henry (4-6) vs. (2) Washington & Lee (9-1) Nov. 12 1:30 pm Washington & Lee HS, Malcolm Lewis, Washington & Lee HS
lewisms@wmlcps.org
(14) Essex (4-6) vs. (3) Amelia Co. (9-1) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Amelia Co. HS, Brad Bradley, Amelia Co. HS, bradleyb@ameliaschools.com
(13) East Rockingham (5-5) vs. (4) King William (10-0) Nov. 11 7:00 pm King William HS, Dan Jones, King William HS, djones@kwcps.k12.va.us
(12) Stonewall Jackson-Q (5-5) vs. (5) Buckingham Co. (8-2) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Buckingham Co. HS, Missy Shores, Buckingham Co. HS,
mshores@bcpschools.org
(11) Strasburg (7-3) vs. (6) Clarke County (7-3) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Clarke Co. HS, Casey Childs, Clarke Co. HS, childsc@clarke.k12.va.us
(10) Manassas Park (5-4) vs. (7) William Monroe (7-3) Nov. 11 7:00 pm William Monroe HS, Katie Brunelle, William Monroe HS,
kbrunelle@greencountyschools.com
(9) Central-Wood (5-5) vs. (8) Windsor (7-3) Windsor HS, Chuck Parrish, Windsor HS, cparrish@iwcs.k12.va.us

WESTERN SECTION - SECTIONAL PLAYOFFS

Div. 1 (16) Holston (3-7) vs. (1) Galax (10-0) Nov, 11 7:00 pm Galax HS, Yerrick Stoneman, Galax HS,
(15) Twin Springs (4-6) vs. (2) George Wythe-W (10-0) Nov. 11 7:00 pm George Wythe HS, Rusty Beamer, George Wythe HS, rbeamer@wythek12.org
(14) Eastside (3-7) vs. (3) Clintwood (8-2) Nov. 12 2:00 pm Clintwood HS, Bill Castle, Clintwood HS, bcastle@dickenson.k12.va.us
(13) Hurley (5-4) vs. (4) Honaker (8-2) Nov. 12 2:00 pm Honaker HS, Trevor Coleman, Honaker HS, tcoleman@russell.k12.va.us
(12) Haysi (5-5) vs. (5) J. I. Burton (8-2) Nov. 12 1:00 pm UVA Wise, Tim Duncan, J. I. Burton HS, tduncan@nortoncityschools.org
(11) Chilhowie (5-5) vs. (6) Rural Retreat (8-2) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Rural Retreat HS, Jamey Hughes, Rural Retreat HS, jhughes@wythe12.org
*** (10) Thomas Walker (6-4) vs. (7) Radford (7-3) Nov. 12 2:00 pm Bobcat Stadium, Radford HS, Greg Wade, Radford HS, gwade@rcps.org
*** (9) Rye Cove (7-3) vs. (8) Castlewood (7-3) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Castlewood HS, Tom Allen, Castlewood HS, tallen@russell.k12.va.us
***Castlewood and Radford tied in rating scale.
Tie broken by 68-8-6 (e) the team with the higher average
rating of all of each team’s opponents.
Div. 2
**** (16) Virginia (5-5) vs. (1) Riverheads (10-0) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Riverheads HS, Matt Stevens, Riverheads HS, mstevens@augusta.k12.va.us
**** (15) Graham (5-5) vs. (2) Grayson Co. (9-1) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Grayson Co. HS, Chad Wright, Grayson Co. HS, chad.wright@grayson.k12.va.us

DIVISION PAIRINGS SCORES DATE TIME SITE/DIRECTOR
***** (14) Grundy (6-4) vs. (3) Appomattox (9-1) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Bragg Stadium, Appomattox HS, Brad Harper, Appomattox HS,
baharper@appomattox.k12.va.us
***** (13) Glenvar (6-4) vs. (4) Giles (9-1) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Stephen C. Ragsdale Field, Giles HS, Steve Wilson, Giles HS, steve2@gilesk12.org
***** (12) John Battle (6-4) vs. (5) Gretna (8-2) Nov. 11 7:00 pm Gretna HS, Chad Scruggs, Gretna HS, chad.scruggs@pcs.k12.va.us
***** (11) Central-Wise (6-4) vs. (6) Wilson Memorial (8-2) Nov. 12 2:00 pm Wilson Memorial HS, Greg Troxell, Wilson Memorial HS, gtroxell@augusta.k12.va.us
(10) Dan River (7-3) vs. (7) Gate City (6-4) Nov. 12 2:00 pm Gate City HS, Adam Keith, Gate City HS, adam.keith@scott.k12.va.us
(9) Union (5-5) vs. (8) Stuarts Draft (7-3) Nov. 12 2:00 pm Stuarts Draft HS, Steve Hartley, Stuarts Draft HS, shartley@augusta.k12.va.us

Would you like to contribute to this story? Join the discussion.

Recommended For You
comments powered by Disqus