Maryland out of appeals for Sandy disaster relief

Tree lands on car off Connecticut Ave. Thurs. Nov. 1, 2012.150 Photos
(Photo: Horace Holmes/WJLA)
Decrease Increase Text size

HAGERSTOWN, Md. (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency is adding Carroll and Montgomery counties to those designated for disaster aid stemming from Superstorm Sandy.

The additions on Monday make Baltimore County the only jurisdiction not eligible for partial reimbursement to state and local governments for expenses related to public works and services.

FEMA announced last week that Somerset County also qualifies for individual assistance. Homeowners, renters and business owners there can apply for federal funds to help repair storm damage.

Somerset received the individual assistance after the state appealed FEMA's initial rejection of the aid. The Maryland Emergency Management Agency says there's no recourse to FEMA's continued denial of individual assistance for Dorchester, Garrett, Wicomico and Worcester counties

Would you like to contribute to this story? Join the discussion.

Recommended For You
comments powered by Disqus