‹ Exit photo gallery
WJLA, January 31, 2012

Same-sex marriage: Where is it legal?

Six states, plus the District of Columbia, have legalized same-sex marriage, whether through the government or a court decision. A few other states have laws in the works. 


In May 2004, Massachusetts became the first U.S. state to legalize same-sex marriages when the Supreme Court of Massachusetts ruled that it was unconstitutional under the state constitution to only allow heterosexual couples to marry.