‹ Exit photo gallery
WJLA, January 31, 2012

Same-sex marriage: Where is it legal?

Six states, plus the District of Columbia, have legalized same-sex marriage, whether through the government or a court decision. A few other states have laws in the works. 

New York

New York became the sixth state to allow same-sex marriages in June of last year after lawmakers voted in favor of a bill to legalize it.